What makes me technical?

“What makes me technical?” is a question that I ponder many times over the course of my academic and professional career. What I discovered at the core of this question is a good foundation in software development practices. This means the tools and technologies that I swear by as just the ends but its the practical application that’s the means. Its understanding good object oriented development – encapsulation, inheritance and abstraction. Understanding good project parts – analysis, requirements, scope, assumptions and budget. Understanding team strengths, desires and expectation – who do you prefer to interact with, target dates, and personal and professional commitments. What part of the project process you excel in – implementation, delivery, maintenance or whatever.

What makes me technical isn’t the tools and technology but rather an agile understanding of the entire technical project and the ability to do what tools and technology can’t do.

THINK!

THINK

So what makes you technical? I’d love to hear from you.

Leave a comment